Skip to content

Kansas mediator statistics

Kansas has 176 mediators approved by the Kansas Supreme Court as dispute resolution providers, according to the official roster as of 2026-10-07. Below are the counts by certification type and county.

Source: Kansas Judicial Branch lists of approved dispute resolution providers, downloaded 2026-10-07. Last reviewed 2026-10-07.

Compare all states: mediator statistics by state →

Kansas mediators in numbers

Real counts from the official rosters behind this directory. Each chart has a data table and a shareable image.

Kansas: the 10 counties with the most mediators listed

Kansas: the 10 counties with the most mediators listedJohnson County has the most mediators listed in Kansas (54), followed by Sedgwick County (42). Counts use each mediator's home county on the roster. Johnson County: 54; Sedgwick County: 42; Shawnee County: 18; Douglas County: 15; Wyandotte County: 6; Ellis County: 4; Harvey County: 4; Riley County: 4; Franklin County: 3; Reno County: 3.Johnson County: 54 mediatorsJohnson County54Sedgwick County: 42 mediatorsSedgwick County42Shawnee County: 18 mediatorsShawnee County18Douglas County: 15 mediatorsDouglas County15Wyandotte County: 6 mediatorsWyandotte County6Ellis County: 4 mediatorsEllis County4Harvey County: 4 mediatorsHarvey County4Riley County: 4 mediatorsRiley County4Franklin County: 3 mediatorsFranklin County3Reno County: 3 mediatorsReno County3

Johnson County has the most mediators listed in Kansas (54), followed by Sedgwick County (42). Counts use each mediator's home county on the roster.

Source: Counted from official court and government rosters (source and verified date on every profile); latest roster check 2026-10-08.

Show data table
Share this chart

Kansas: certifications and court panels

Kansas: certifications and court panelsThe most common listing is Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Core mediation (174 mediators). Many mediators hold more than one certification, so the bars add up to more than the 249 people listed. Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Core mediation: 174; Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Domestic (family) mediation: 130; U.S. Dist. Ct. for the District of Kansas - court approved mediator (D. Kan. Rule 16.3): 78; Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Civil mediation: 49; Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Domestic conciliation: 45; Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Parent-adolescent mediation: 40; Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Case management: 27; Other (10 more certifications or panels): 61.Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Core mediation: 174 mediatorsKansas Supreme Court approved provider: Core mediation174Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Domestic (family) mediation: 130 mediatorsKansas Supreme Court approved provider: Domestic (family) m…130U.S. Dist. Ct. for the District of Kansas - court approved mediator (D. Kan. Rule 16.3): 78 mediatorsU.S. Dist. Ct. for the District of Kansas - court approved…78Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Civil mediation: 49 mediatorsKansas Supreme Court approved provider: Civil mediation49Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Domestic conciliation: 45 mediatorsKansas Supreme Court approved provider: Domestic conciliati…45Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Parent-adolescent mediation: 40 mediatorsKansas Supreme Court approved provider: Parent-adolescent m…40Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Case management: 27 mediatorsKansas Supreme Court approved provider: Case management27Other (10 more certifications or panels): 61 mediatorsOther (10 more certifications or panels)61

The most common listing is Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Core mediation (174 mediators). Many mediators hold more than one certification, so the bars add up to more than the 249 people listed.

Certification and panel names are as the roster states them.

Source: Counted from official court and government rosters (source and verified date on every profile); latest roster check 2026-10-08.

Show data table
Kansas: certifications and court panels
CategoryMediators
Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Core mediation174
Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Domestic (family) mediation130
U.S. Dist. Ct. for the District of Kansas - court approved mediator (D. Kan. Rule 16.3)78
Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Civil mediation49
Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Domestic conciliation45
Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Parent-adolescent mediation40
Kansas Supreme Court approved provider: Case management27
Other (10 more certifications or panels)61
Share this chart

Kansas: attorney and non-attorney mediators

Kansas: attorney and non-attorney mediators131 of 249 mediators listed in Kansas (53%) have a roster background that lists them as an attorney. Mediators act as neutrals and don't represent either side. Roster background lists them as an attorney: 131; Other background or not stated: 118.Roster background lists them as an attorney: 131 mediatorsRoster background lists them as an attorney131Other background or not stated: 118 mediatorsOther background or not stated118

131 of 249 mediators listed in Kansas (53%) have a roster background that lists them as an attorney. Mediators act as neutrals and don't represent either side.

Not every roster records a mediator's background, so “not stated” includes attorneys whose roster doesn't say.

Source: Counted from official court and government rosters (source and verified date on every profile); latest roster check 2026-10-08.

Show data table
Kansas: attorney and non-attorney mediators
CategoryMediators
Roster background lists them as an attorney131
Other background or not stated118
Share this chart

By certification type

Many mediators hold more than one certification (152 of 176), so these numbers add up to more than the total.

CertificationMediators
Core mediation174
Domestic (family) mediation130
Civil mediation49
Domestic conciliation45
Parent-adolescent mediation40
Case management27
Parent coordination26

Background

59 of 176 mediators (34%) are listed as attorneys on the provider lists. The rest come from other backgrounds.

By county

The county comes from the mediator's ZIP code. Providers with offices outside Kansas aren't counted by county. 25 mediators have no county and aren’t counted below. The rate per 100,000 residents uses the U.S. Census Bureau, Vintage 2024 county population estimates (July 1, 2024).

CountyMediatorsDomestic (family) mediationAttorney backgroundPer 100,000 residents
Allen0000
Anderson0000
Atchison0000
Barber0000
Barton0000
Bourbon0000
Brown0000
Butler2202.9
Chase0000
Chautauqua0000
Cherokee0000
Cheyenne0000
Clark0000
Clay10012.5
Cloud0000
Coffey0000
Comanche0000
Cowley0000
Crawford0000
Decatur0000
Dickinson1005.4
Doniphan0000
Douglas121069.8
Edwards0000
Elk0000
Ellis44113.8
Ellsworth0000
Finney0000
Ford1112.9
Franklin31111.4
Geary0000
Gove0000
Graham0000
Grant11014.1
Gray0000
Greeley0000
Greenwood0000
Hamilton0000
Harper11018.5
Harvey42111.9
Haskell0000
Hodgeman0000
Jackson32222.2
Jefferson1105.5
Jewell0000
Johnson3621165.7
Kearny0000
Kingman0000
Kiowa0000
Labette0000
Lane0000
Leavenworth1001.2
Lincoln0000
Linn0000
Logan0000
Lyon2216.2
Marion22017.1
Marshall0000
McPherson1103.3
Meade0000
Miami2215.6
Mitchell11017.2
Montgomery1103.3
Morris10018.9
Morton0000
Nemaha1109.9
Neosho0000
Ness0000
Norton11118.7
Osage0000
Osborne0000
Ottawa0000
Pawnee0000
Phillips0000
Pottawatomie2207.4
Pratt0000
Rawlins0000
Reno3304.9
Republic11021.7
Rice0000
Riley4315.5
Rooks0000
Rush0000
Russell0000
Saline2113.7
Scott0000
Sedgwick353286.5
Seward0000
Shawnee151178.4
Sheridan0000
Sherman0000
Smith0000
Stafford0000
Stanton0000
Stevens0000
Sumner0000
Thomas0000
Trego0000
Wabaunsee0000
Wallace0000
Washington0000
Wichita0000
Wilson0000
Woodson0000
Wyandotte6513.5

Download these county counts (CSV) · totals only, no names or contact details.

How we counted

  • Source: the Kansas Judicial Branch lists of approved dispute resolution providers, downloaded 2026-10-07. We count a person once even if they hold several certifications.
  • Certification types are as the roster states them.
  • “Attorney background” means the roster lists the person as an attorney.
  • Not counted: mediators with no county (25), and listings from other rosters or states.
  • Population: U.S. Census Bureau, Vintage 2024 county population estimates (July 1, 2024).